The Chair of National Parks England is elected from amongst the 10 National Park Authority Chairs each year. The Chair:

  • helps provide strategic direction to the organisation
  • chairs the National Parks England Board meetings
  • represents the Association at Ministerial and other high level meetings

The current Chair of National Parks England is Margaret Paren, Chair of the South Downs National Park Authority. The current Deputy Chair of National Parks England is Michael McKinley, Chair of Lake District National Park Authority.


National Parks England has a small central staff team based in London. The organisation gains expertise from the staff and members from the 10 National Park Authorities, and regular collaborative working is maintained.

Paul Hamblin, Executive Director

Paul co-ordinates the strategic direction of the organisation, assists in the development of National Parks England policies, and represents the National Park Authorities by engaging with senior decision makers and the media.

Amanda Brace, Senior Policy Officer

Amanda engages with senior decision makers on key policy issues, and is responsible for coordinating views and activity as well as preparing reports and publications to further National Parks England's objectives.

Thea Gordon-Rawlings, Administrator

Thea is responsible for the smooth running and administration of the NPE office. She arranges meetings and events, handles enquiries and updates web and social media content. Thea also provides secretariat services to the All Party Parliamentary Group on National Parks.