Chair and Deputy Chair elected to lead National Parks England

Skip to section navigation

17 June 2022

Writer, journalist and Parish Councillor Andrew McCloy has been re-elected as the Chair of National Parks England at its Annual General Meeting.

Andrew was re-elected for the role by the Chairs of nine National Parks across England. Andrew is also Chair of the Peak District National Park Authority, a position he has held since 2018.

The AGM also saw the re-election of Ian Phillips (Chair of South Downs National Park Authority), a landscape architect with a passion for the natural environment, as the Deputy Chair.

National Parks England is the umbrella organisation for the English National Park Authorities. It exists to support policy and practice by providing a collective and expert voice for their views, raising the profile of their work, facilitating discussion on issues of common concern, and working in partnership with other bodies.

Andrew said: “I’m both thrilled and honoured to chair the English national park movement at such an important time for protected landscapes. With government support, we have a golden opportunity to show real leadership and deliver for the nation on nature, climate and people.”

The Chair and Deputy Chair are key strategic roles, guiding National Parks England’s priorities and aspirations, maintaining political links, and supporting National Park Authorities’ work in partnership with local communities, landowners and a range of other organisations and interest groups, including thousands of volunteers, to look after these special places for everyone.


Notes to editors

About National Parks England

National Parks England brings together nine English National Park Authorities to provide a strong, collective and expert voice at a national level. We shape policy by drawing on our extensive experience, facilitating discussion, sharing knowledge, cultivating partnerships, and testing innovative solutions to some of the biggest challenges facing society.

For more information on the UK’s fifteen National Parks